Independent explainer · Only firm-confirmed details

Three-Step Prop Firms 2026: lower per-phase targets, a longer road to funding

Three-step evaluations are genuinely uncommon. Most prop firms run one-step or two-step models. This page explains how the three-phase model works, how it differs from staged scaling, and names only the firms whose own websites currently publish a three-phase evaluation.

Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you purchase through one of these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. Our recommendations are based on the factors explained on each page.

How it works

Three phases before funding, not three stages after it

1

Phase 1

First assessment. You trade to that phase's profit target without breaching its loss limits.

2

Phase 2

A second assessment on a fresh account balance. Passing phase 1 does not carry over profit.

3

Phase 3

A final confirmation phase. Only after this does the firm issue a funded account.

The specific target, drawdown and any time limit differ by firm, and we do not estimate them. Where a figure is not published on the firm's own site, we mark it "Not specified" rather than filling the gap.

See how one firm publishes its three phases:Visit Maven
Model comparison

Three-step vs two-step vs staged scaling

One-step
A single assessment phase, then funding.
Shortest route to a funded account. The most common model alongside two-step.
Two-step
An assessment phase plus a verification phase.
The industry default. The target is usually split across the two phases.
Three-step
Three assessment phases, all of which must be passed.
Uncommon. Targets per phase are typically the smallest of the three models.
Staged scaling
Not an evaluation at all — account growth after funding.
A firm with multiple scaling levels is not a three-step firm. Do not conflate them.

Methodology: models are described structurally, from how firms define their own programmes. No pass rates, prices or drawdown values are inferred.

The trade-off

Smaller asks per phase, more phases to survive

What you gain

  • Each phase asks for a smaller profit move than a single-phase challenge.
  • Less incentive to oversize a position to reach one large target.
  • Structured checkpoints, which some traders find easier to plan around.

What it costs you

  • Three phases means a longer path before any funded account exists.
  • Three separate opportunities to breach a rule and end the attempt.
  • Fewer firms offer it, so your choice of conditions is narrower.
Weigh the trade-off against a firm's published terms:Visit Maven
Fit

Who a three-step evaluation actually suits

Suits you if

You trade small, repeatable gains, you are comfortable with a slower route to funding, and a low per-phase target fits how you already trade.

Probably not for you if

You want the shortest path to a funded account, or you need a specific market or platform that the few three-step firms do not cover.

If the model fits, the next step is comparing the small number of firms that run it.

Confirmed firms

The firms we could confirm run a three-phase evaluation

Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you purchase through one of these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. Our recommendations are based on the factors explained on each page.

Maven

Standard 3-Step

Three phases
Phase targets
3% / 3% / 3%
Max loss
3%
Daily loss
2%
Profit split
80%
Drawdown type
Not specified
Time limit
Not specified
Markets
Forex & CFDs

Traders who want the smallest per-phase profit target available.

Details read from maventrading.com challenge table. Firms change programmes without notice — confirm current terms on the firm's own site before purchasing.

Nordic Funder

Three-Step (FX & CFDs)

Three phases
Phase targets
5% / 5% / 5%
Max loss
5% static
Daily loss
5% (on end-of-day balance)
Profit split
80%
Drawdown type
Static max drawdown
Time limit
Not specified
Markets
Forex & CFDs

Traders who prefer a static drawdown across all three phases.

Details read from nordicfunder.com/accounts. Firms change programmes without notice — confirm current terms on the firm's own site before purchasing.

Transparency

Firms we checked that do not currently offer a three-step evaluation

The5ers

Their own programme pages currently advertise 1-step and 2-step evaluations only. No three-phase evaluation found.

Traders Launch

Futures-focused with daily payouts; no three-phase evaluation published on their site.

FundedElite

Programme details sit behind a client login, so a three-step evaluation could not be confirmed from public pages.

Several firms are described elsewhere online as "three-step". In most cases that refers to a multi-stage scaling plan after funding, not a three-phase evaluation. We list a firm above only when its own current site publishes three evaluation phases.

FAQ

Three-step evaluations, answered plainly

A three-step evaluation splits the assessment into three consecutive phases. You must pass all three before a funded account is issued. Each phase usually carries a smaller profit target than a one- or two-step challenge, because the target is spread across more phases.

Ready to look at the two confirmed firms?Visit Maven View Challenge Options
Next step

Where to go from here

If a three-phase evaluation suits how you trade, start with the firms whose own sites publish three phases. If it does not, the one-step and two-step models offer far more choice — both sibling guides compare those firms in detail.

Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you purchase through one of these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. Our recommendations are based on the factors explained on each page.